Liability forms for students

DomLauria

My school system doesn't want any students handling instruments or tools in ANY way without parental permission. Their lawyers are dragging heel on developing a liability sheet for parents to sign, anyone have basic liability forms they would be willing to share?

Sure would be nice to start teaching basic light instrument hang techniques and platform/flat building!

Warning: I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

The courts have ruled that the parent has no authority to sign away the rights of a minor, and a minor cannot be bound by the waiver due to their age. So your lawyer is probably waffling because the piece of paper has more value when folded up as an airplane than as a legal document.

So if the school doesn't up their insurance it is probably a no dice situation. :mad:

It would seem reasonable to treat this as a permission trip, no different than a field trip or option to opt out/in for a class or activity. You or your school will still be liable for any errors or mistakes, but better that the mom and dad know Johnny is butchering wood on a table saw rather than surprise them with that from the emergency room, which means you really do need parents or guardian's permission to authorize medical attention if the kid does get hurt. Could be schools have that anyway.

If your school has a tech ed department, I would consult with them as to what forms they use. I would think though that the school should have a high enough insurance policy to cover you. P.M. me your email and I can send you what I make the drama club students sign.

This was what I used....

Dear Parents,